Seema Rampersad : President

Seema Rampersad


Originally from Trinidad & Tobago, Seema Rampersad came to London to study Information and Communication. She worked for the Intelligence Unit at the Greater London Authority and for PricewaterhouseCoopers in their Business Information Centre for many years. She is still an advocate for traditional library and information services and skills. Though, in both roles she has continued to use new technologies for collaborating across subject areas and borders. At present, she is interested in social media and the use of multimedia as business and professional development tools for managing and delivering information and knowledge.

Simon Burton : Past President

Simon Burton

Past President

Simon Burton is the Managing Director and Co-Founder of CB Resourcing, a leading knowledge & information management recruitment business.

Simon is President of SLA Europe in 2019 as well as supporting the SLA Europe events committee in engaging with commercial partners.

Amy Stubbing : President Elect

Amy Stubbing

President Elect

Amy has over five years of experience working in a variety of library and archive settings, and received her MSc in Library and Information Studies in 2016. Her main area of focus in her career has been data driven decisions and service development. She is currently working at the University of East London as the Docklands Campus Library Manager

Laura Williams : Treasurer

Laura Williams


Laura Williams is currently working at the University of Huddersfield as Subject Librarian for Art, Design and Architecture. Graduating from the University of Sheffield Information School with an MA in Librarianship in 2011. Laura then worked in media libraries and archives at both ITV and the BBC. Media library experience includes working as an embedded media manager within television production at the BBC.

Laura joined the SLA Europe Board after winning the Business and Finance Division’s Early Career Conference Award (ECCA) in 2013 and attending the SLA Conference in San Diego. Since then, Laura has served as Awards Chair for SLA Europe, and from 2017 the Treasurer role.  As well as volunteering on the SLA Europe Board, Laura is part of the Digital Communications team for the SLA Embedded Librarians Caucus.  Laura is also a member of CILIP working towards Chartership.

Andrew Grave : Events Committee Chair

Andrew Grave

Events Committee Chair

Andrew Grave currently provides training and support to corporate information teams. He helps information professionals add value to their research, trains non-information professionals on information literacy topics and provides cover when required. He runs popular public and in-house courses on analysing companies and markets and understanding company accounts.

He began his information career at the business support agency Business Link, in London. He then moved on to join the UK’s sixth largest accountancy firm, BDO, where he worked for 11 years. His work there spanned competitive intelligence, vendor management and research and analysis

Cath Jenkins : ECCA and Awards Chair

Cath Jenkins

ECCA and Awards Chair
Cath Jenkins works as a Health Literacy Project Manager in NHS library and knowledge services at North East London Foundation Trust (NELFT). She holds a PGCert in Information Science from City University. She is currently studying for a doctorate in health literacy at London South Bank University. Her research focuses on the potential of libraries as spaces conducive to the development of critical health literacy and health advocacy in children.
Cath also works as a production assistant for a specialist academic publisher of books and open access journals. She was the 2019 recipient of an Early Career Conference Award (ECCA) and attended the SLA Conference that year in Cleveland, where she was inspired by sessions on social justice.
Sarah Bicknell : Membership Chair

Sarah Bicknell

Membership Chair

Sarah works in the Information Services Department of mid-tier accountancy firm RSM, which was formerly known as Baker Tilly.

She completed her MSc in Information Science at City University London in 2016, having previously graduated from St Andrews in 2011 with an MA in Latin.

Rebecca Walsh : Secretary

Rebecca Walsh

Rebecca Walsh is Research Information Officer at the International Alliance for Responsible Drinking (IARD), with responsibility for the grey literature collection, monitoring regulatory developments and conducting IARD member's literature searches.
Rebecca graduated from the University of Hertfordshire with a degree in Humanities and an MSc in Inforrmation Science from City University. She has over 25 years’ of work experience in a variety of sectors including legal libraries, academic libraries and the health sector.
Claire Sewell : Conference Coordinator

Claire Sewell

Conference Coordinator

Claire Sewell is the Research Support Skills Coordinator within the Office of Scholarly Communication at Cambridge University where she is responsible for overseeing the professional development of library staff. She graduated with an MSc in Library and Information Studies from Aberystwyth University in 2013, achieved CILIP Chartership in 2014 and continues to maintain an active presence in the profession.

Niamh Tumelty : Co-Chair European Conference Planning Committee

Niamh Tumelty

Co-Chair European Conference Planning Committee

Niamh Tumelty is Head of STEM Libraries at the University of Cambridge.  Her particular areas of interest are information literacy and the opportunities presented by embedding library and information professionals within research groups. Niamh was Engineering Division Programme Planner for the 2016 SLA Annual Conference in Philadelphia and Annual Conference Advisory Committee Member for the 2017 Annual Conference in Phoenix.  She joins the SLA Europe Board as Co-Chair for the first SLA Europe Conference.

Previous Presidents:

2019 Simon Burton

2018 Katharine Schopflin

2017 Marie Grace Cannon
2016 John Coll
2015 Sam Wiggins
2014 Donald Roll
2013 Stephen Phillips
2012 Darron Chapman
2011 Sara Batts
2010 Kate Arnold
2009 Geraldine Clement-Stoneham
2007/8 Penny Leach
2006/7 Rachel Kolsky
2005/6 Gill Voisey
2004/5 Liz Blankson-Hemans
2003/4 Neil Infield
2002/3 Kate Arnold
2001/2 Celia Jackson
2000/1 Veronica Kennard
1999/2000 David Mort
1998/9 Michelle Darraugh
1997/8 Sylvia James
1996/7 Janet Tomlinson
1995/6 Cris Kinghorn
1994/5 Stella Trench
1993/4 Nigel Oxbrow
1992/3 Nigel Oxbrow

Site last updated February 18, 2020 @ 5:16 pm; This content last updated January 16, 2020 @ 9:59 am